Athenry Community Council

Athenry Community Council est 1976

Over 40 years of Community Involvement

 ‘A Community Working Together to Keep Athenry Working’

We welcome onboard enthusiastic new members from the Athenry Community to join the Council in the improvement of our beautiful Heritage Town.
The Council is comprised of volunteers from the community.  The current committee are: Councillor Peter Feeney – Chairperson, Paul Dilger – Secretary, Eamon Madden – Treasurer, Shelly Herterich Quinn – Vice Chair, PRO and Membership Officer, Rose Barrett – IT.
To become a member you must be elected by 10% of the households in your area.  Once elected, please send in your membership letter together with completed election letter to the address below.  Please see sample election letter attached New Member Election Letter.
Among the responsibilities of the Community Council is maintaining the many properties purchased for the use of the community in Athenry.  Properties like the newly refurbished Community Hall, the Community Park in front of the OPW run King John’s Castle and the Playground to name a few.
The Community Council encourage and support all local clubs and groups and welcome input on how we can help them survive and thrive.
For more information please email:
or write to PRO, Athenry Community Council,
c/o Shelly Herterich Quinn, Old Church Street, Athenry